Your 3 Main Zodiac Signs & How To Discover Them

First, you are most likely thinking…” I didn’t even know I had 3 main zodiac signs.” Secondly, you’re perhaps wondering, “What are my 3 main zodiac signs and How can I find them?” In this blog I will share with you the answer to that particular question. Has anyone ever asked you, “what is your zodiac sign?” When a person answers this question, he or she will tend to automatically think of their sun sign. Your sun zodiac sign is based on your birth date. To be more precise, your month and day of birth. Anyone can figure out their sun sign by just knowing this information and looking at the Zodiac Sign Chart below. However, not only do you have a sun sign, you also have a rising or ascendant and a moon sign. Your sun, rising, and moon signs are known as your 3 main zodiac signs.


Furthermore, in discovering your rising and moon signs you actually need to take a look at your natal chart. Every person has a unique natal chart that reveals to him or her precisely where each planet was located in the sky at the exact date, time, & place he or she was born. If you do not already have a natal chart, no worries, because I will share with you some information at the end of this blog on where you can receive a free natal chart. All you need to discover your 3 main zodiac signs is your date, time, and place of birth, then you can get your own free personalized natal chart. For now, you can simply follow along with the Savannahsmiles Life Coaching’s natal chart I have provided for you right below.


First, there are ten main planets we use in astrology. Even though the sun and moon are not in fact planets, in the astrology world we consider them as planets. Furthermore, the ten main planets are the sun, moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto. The sun, moon, Mercury, Mars, and Venus are known as inner planets, it takes them approximately 2 days to 2 months to travel through each zodiac sign. Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto are known as the outer planets and usually take 1 to 21 years to travel through each zodiac sign. You might be initially thinking, why isn’t Earth included? This is because we are looking at the sky from the viewpoint of Earth.

In addition to, the Zodiac Sign Chart above, there are two other ways to discover your sun’s zodiac sign as soon as you obtain your natal chart. The first and easiest, of the two ways is to look at the natal chart above in the box (middle right side) and it will tell you the name of the planet and which zodiac sign and house number the planet is in.

The second way to discover your sun sign is locating the Planet Symbols box on the natal chart above (bottom right). It will provide you with the symbols used for each planet. Find out what the sun symbol looks like, then take a look and go around the wheel or circle and locate the sun symbol on the natal chart. In this particular natal chart, the sun is in the sign of Taurus. You can see the symbol for the sign of Taurus above and right underneath the sun symbol. Therefore, the sun zodiac sign is Taurus. Not only can you locate your sun sign this way, but you can also find your moon sign the same exact way as described above. For example, the moon in this natal chart is in the sign of Aries. So far, to recap… The sun sign is in Taurus and the moon sign is in Aries.

I already know what you’re thinking… please do not be concerned about what any of the numbers mean on this natal chart, that is a discussion for another time. For now, we just want to keep things as simple as possible and are only discussing how to find out what planets are in which zodiac signs.

Moreover, to make things even easier, if you take a look at the natal chart above, I also have included a Zodiac Sign’s box (middle left-hand side) that will provide you with the zodiac symbols for each zodiac sign. This will help you to recognize the zodiac sign symbols that also go around the natal chart wheel.

Last but not least, is your rising zodiac sign, also known as your ascendant sign. There is a thick gold horizontal line going across in the middle of the natal chart above. This is called the horizon line. If you look to the left of the natal chart wheel, whichever zodiac sign is showing in the 12th house, directly above the horizon line, will be your rising or ascendant zodiac sign. For instance, in the natal chart above the rising sign is in the zodiac sign of Leo.

In case I did not explain it in a way you understand, I have provided another example of where the horizon line and ascendant sign can be located on a different natal chart right below. According to this natal chart, the rising sign is in the sign of Pisces.

To sum it all up, the 3 main zodiac signs in Savannahsmiles natal chart are…

Sun in Taurus

Rising or Ascendant in Leo

Moon in Aries

So, the next time someone asks you, “what’s your zodiac sign?” You can say to him or her “as a matter of fact, I have 3 main zodiac signs.” For example, it is commonly known for people to answer that question in the following way… “I’m a Taurus sun, Leo rising, and Aries moon.”

Sending you love, peace, & positive vibes,

Sherri Pentzien (Life Coach & Owner of Savannahsmiles Life Coaching)

I promised you at the end of my blog I would share with you how and where you can get your own free personalized natal chart.

Click on the link below to get your FREE Natal Chart Today!